Showing posts with label Hokies. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Hokies. Show all posts

Thursday, December 8, 2011

Virginia Tech

Once a Hokie, Always a Hokie. I am sure this is not news to you, but I love Virginia Tech with ever fiber of my being. If it was a person I would lay my life down for it. Bad things happen everywhere, every day, and on other college campuses too. Unfortunately, Virginia Tech is under a microscope because of the horrific, unthinkable tragedy that happened there almost five years ago. I will NEVER ever forget that day; so many lost their lives way too soon. Whenever I get down, frustrated, or annoyed by something I try to think of those 32 that aren't here to live this life. I am, and I shouldn't take it for granted.

Today we lost a Virginia Tech police officer to another senseless act of violence. You can say Virginia Tech is cursed, that bad things happen there, but you're wrong. Blacksburg is where my heart is and it will always be there. I know all my Hokies understand. Those of you that took this as an opportunity to make jokes or talk badly about Virginia Tech, shame on you. On April 16, 2007 we received an outpouring of support and it was wonderful. Today there was a lot of support too, but also some hate and I ask why? Thirty-two innocent victims are murdered and people literally send their support (see below), but one is killed and it's somehow a joke? I feel sorry for you and the person that you are, or at least the person that you portray to the world. But mostly I feel sorry for you because you never got to go Virginia Tech and experience the magnificence that is Blacksburg! HOKIE NATION. WE ARE VIRGINIA TECH.

Rest in peace Officer Crouse and thank you for your service. UT PROSIM.



Monday, December 5, 2011

Fail Fail... WIN!

Two fails this weekend. The first one was Ram Racing's Hot Chocolate 15k/5k at the National Harbor Saturday morning. The race was set to start at 8am so my friend and I left my place in Arlington just before 6am. Everything was just dandy until we approached the location where we were going to park. Dead stop on the highway and we were still a couple miles away. We needed to park by 6:45am so we could catch the shuttle. Well, we got there right at 6:45am and all was fine because they obviously realized things were running behind as there were plenty of shuttles. We got to the race at 7am so we had an hour to kill. Good and fine since I don't like to be rushed for races. Even had time to take some photos!

So there I am ready to run and there's a view of the harbor, kind of. Well, there was MAJOR traffic getting into the venue and it was blocking part of the 5k course. Yeah, real men of genius designed that course! The announcer was the worst as he kept saying, "about five to ten minutes until we get this thing going." Umm, no. The 5k was supposed to start at 7:30am and it started at 8:30am. So the 15k, which I was running, started at 9am. AN HOUR LATE. I also didn't plan on standing in the cold for two hours so as you might imagine I got a little chilly in that outfit. This was only the beginning of the worst. My toes were numb for the first three miles of the course, a very strange feeling. The course was AWFUL! We ran the first 5 miles on a legit highway, interstate, whatever you want to call it. AND they left a lane open for traffic. I was dodging semis, mack trucks, douche in a BMW, breathing in exhaust fumes, and looking at signs for 495, 295, Route 1.

Hey guys, let's take this run onto 295! #safe

We finally got up to the harbor and that was okay, but the course was just still so dumb--narrow, off road, on road, sidewalk. Ridiculous. I am pretty sure my dead cat (RIP Miss Kitty) could have designed a better course. This was definitely not a course for a PR as you had to weave in and out to get around people because it was so crowded. I still finished in an hour and 20 minutes so not great, but not bad.

Then we have disaster number two: ACC championship and the Hokies. Holy hell what an awful showing. There's really nothing good to say about that effort! However, the joke was over the next day when we got the invite to the Sugar Bowl! Honestly, better bowl than the Orange Bowl anyway! Better location and better opponent. It's just so funny because of all the hate about it too. I swear some people just love to hate the Hokies. Sure there are teams out there I don't really care for, but I don't actively spout hate and hope they lose. Lots of people do that to the Hokies and to them I say SUCK......... OUR SUGAR! Haha. And today was all about how undeserving we are and this is a travesty. Hoooookay, what about Michigan?! And what about the fact that this is all about money anyway just like everything else in this greed riddled world!? I mean Bernie Madoff might as well be running the NCAA and BCS because it's all about getting the suits more money for their yachts, summer homes, luxury cars, and other non-necessities. So do we deserve to go to the Sugar Bowl? No, not really, but we're going so STFU and I'll be cheering them on with my hater blockers on. PEACE.

Sunday, November 27, 2011

Absent

Okay, it has been a hot minute since I have posted and so much has happened! I have been really busy (I know), but in early November I wasn't that busy and didn't post because I just didn't have anything I wanted to write about. Well now I do! First of all, how about those Hokies!? So yeah, I know I said we sucked, and we kind of did. I mean, we really struggled against some teams like Duke?! Not okay. But we beat lame ass Virginia and that's all that matters! Now we're Coastal Champs again and we're headed to the ACC championship. Act like you care!

I moved! Major life upgrade. The place is so ridiculously nice and it's in an awesome location. I am not going to go into great detail because I don't want to give away where I live. I'll end up waking up to some creeper trying on my clothes. All I can say is it feels so good to be moved in and out of the old place!

New job is still going well and the holiday party is this Thursday, which I am really excited about. I haven't gone to a real holiday party in almost four years because we only had lame-o work parties during the day in the government. I have been running a lot and I am running the Hot Chocolate 15k this Saturday. I just got new running shoes at Potomac River Running, and was pleasantly surprised when they rang up at 30% off. I just love when little things like that happen!
Link
Alright, it's off to hang my diploma and other frames!

Sunday, September 25, 2011

Peanut Butter

If you really know me you know that I am pretty obsessed with peanut butter. I really could subsist on it and I know I am not well if I do not want any. What's better than peanut butter? Peanut butter AND chocolate. Today I went to Pinkberry and they had peanut butter flavored frozen yogurt! I tasted a sample and it was a winner. I ordered it and added strawberries, mochi, and heath bar. It was pretty much the highlight of my day! That's a little sad, but whatever. I ran about 6.2 miles this morning. I decided to hit the trail and run into Georgetown and back, which is always a beautiful and calming run.

Friday I had a really wild night of Whole Foods, running, and Target. Then I watched Bridesmaids with my roommate. Honestly, I was a little disappointed! Everyone hyped it up so much and I thought it was going to be amazing. It was really funny and I enjoyed it, but I expected more.

Saturday was my sister's bachelorette party, which lasted all day and into the evening since we did a winery then bar thing. I watched the game and was once again, unimpressed. I am really worried about playing Clemson this weekend. It's on my birthday too so they better win!

Tuesday, September 20, 2011

Two Weeks Notice

Yes, I did it. Today I put my two weeks in at work. I cannot describe to you how happy it made me. I feel relieved, happy, optimistic, and only a little sad. I'm only sad because I will truly miss some of my coworkers. We have gone through a lot together and they definitely made the days seem a little shorter and a lot more fun. I wish I could create my own company and hire everyone so we would be together forever! They'd probably quit if I was their boss though. Haha. The best part is my last day is October 5 and I don't start my new job until October 17. Woo, vacation staycation!

This Saturday is Daryn's bachelorette party and we're going to some wineries so that should be fun. Also, we play at Marshall. So far I am NOT impressed with the Hokies. I mean sure some players are having some great games individually, but they're not gelling together as a team. Who only hangs 26 points on Arkansas STATE?! If you haven't even heard of that team, well they play in the Sun Belt conference. Yeah.

This is short, but there isn't much else to say. I think I am going to go eat ice cream. Bye.

Sunday, September 11, 2011

Let's Remember

Well, this week never really turned around as my car wouldn't start and had to be towed to the automotive shop, the Hokies played like crap (but a win is a win), and I feel like crap. Seriously, I don't think I have ever had a sinus infection, but I guess that's what this is? I have the worst sharp pain in my forehead that only goes away for a few hours when I take ibuprofen and I get the chills and night sweats.

However, I can't really complain that much because I am alive. Today is the ten year anniversary of 9/11, the first of three events in which I realized this is a cruel, crappy world. I remember the exact moment when we heard about the Twin Towers. I was in Chemistry class, a junior in high school and they came on the announcement with a message about what was happening. At first I thought President Bush had been assassinated. That wasn't it though and we would only begin to comprehend what happened over the next couple hours. We ended up getting out of school early. The other two events I will never forget are the DC snipers and of course, 4/16 at Virginia Tech.

So if you're feeling down today or worrying about this and that, take a moment to reflect on your life and why you're still here.