Showing posts with label football. Show all posts
Showing posts with label football. Show all posts

Tuesday, August 30, 2011

Beautiful Day in DC

So after yoga and a little running on Sunday (achilles tendonitis is slowly getting better) my friend Jon-Erik asked me if I wanted to do something outside since it was so nice out. You would have never known that a hurricane tropical storm had hit the day before. I think it was probably the most beautiful Summer day to date. It was somewhat hot, but not too hot, an amazing breeze, and the sky was the prettiest blue you can imagine. He suggested the MLK memorial and I thought that was a great idea since it was just unveiled this past weekend.

So we trekked into DC and found our way to the MLK memorial. There were lots of tourists, but it wasn't too bad. And you know how much Taylo loves her DC tourists. There were lots of cool quotes along the wall and the MLK carving itself was really cool. It's really sad that I live right outside DC and don't take advantage of all DC has to offer in terms of memorials and museums. I told Jon-Erik we should do it more on nice days since Fall is coming. I mean it's free and there's just so much to see.

We also checked out the WWII Memorial, which is was amazing to take in. I rarely take the time to just sit and be with anything. But it was nice to just stand there, look at the memorial, and all the people enjoying the day. I think I am going to try to make it a habit to go into DC to walk around the mall, visit memorials, or even museums every month. On our way home we ate at South Block Smoothie & Wrap Co., which I highly recommend. Not only was the wrap delicious, but they had Hokie hot sauce! Obviously this is my new favorite restaurant in Clarendon.



WWII Memorial

Speaking of Hokies, four days until kickoff. I'm so pumped. Fall is my favorite season and Hokie football makes it that much better. Oh plus I got my newly designed VT Nikes. LET'S GO...........

Wednesday, July 20, 2011

Is It Friday Yet?

No, I mean really. This week is dragging and it sucks, so I just want it to be Friday and time for happy hour after work!

I cannot even begin to describe the annoying things happening this week. Why does an awesome week have to be followed by a crappy one? Does this mean I can plan for a good one next week?! Wah, woe is me. At least we finally have our first softball game tonight, which I am pretty excited about. It was rained out last week. The downside? This HEAT. It is ridiculous and only going to get worse tomorrow and Thursday. Really puts the skids on running outside, which is hard for me because I hate the torturetreadmill.

Okay, I can stop whining for a second to talk about VIRGINIA TECH football! Specifically recruiting. I feel like we're having great success in recruiting with Shane Beamer on board now. Our most recent commit, Augie Conte, commited to Virginia Tech even though both of his parents are Hoos (we all make mistakes in life). Yay, go Hokies!

And let's go 1411D! We better win tonight.