Wednesday, January 25, 2012

Random

So I have a few things to say, but they don't relate at all so hold on for an assortment of thoughts! First up, we're going to discuss gym etiquette, or why the fuck are you doing that in a gym?! Granted it's January so we know it's ripe time for amateur hour. On Monday though, ALL of these egregious things were committed in the weight room.
1. Woman doing Jazzercise in the middle of the weight room. If you're still Jazzercising like it's 1994 that's cool with me. I mean who am I to judge, but the middle of the weight room is not the place for it.
2. Wearing slippers/designer moccasins/whatever those things were to lift weights. They make sneakers for a reason so buy some and wear them to the gym.
3. Wearing cologne. I don't even need to elaborate.
4. Hanging out on a machine or a bench. This isn't your living room. Either do a set or move your ass to an open space.
5. Lifting weights that are so heavy you can't complete more than five reps and they go crashing to the ground in the middle of the fifth rep. Men are so guilty of this. It's okay. You're not that strong. Just lift lighter weights, no one else will notice. However, I do notice when 80 pounds of weights hit the ground ya poptart.

Onto the next one. Subject that is. So, there's this random bar called Ragtime near my apartment. I met up with my coworker and her boyfriend for happy hour last night. Oh my goodnessssssssss! Best happy hour ever. I am not even talking about the drinks, but the food! You can get crab legs, mussels, oysters, clams, and shrimp and they're only $3.45 per half dozen. Yesssssssssss, this is my kind of place. It's definitely my new spot on Tuesdays. You know I crushed a dozen crab legs, dozen oysters, half dozen shrimp, and 2 Sam Adams Spring Seasonals. The life.

Last random thought. I am currently obsessed with the band Stars. I especially love their song Personal. You're welcome!

Saturday, January 21, 2012

Perspective

Sometimes I get down (the dancing kind), but right now I am talking the depressing down. I guess that's a stupid thing to say because who isn't down sometimes? However, there are times (this past week for example) where it's hard for me to put my life in perspective and pull myself out of it. I know how to do it; you have to fake it until you make it, but sometimes I just let myself spiral into misery.

Well I got some perspective today from a neutral source, and as always it really helped. My friends (love them) gave me awesome advice this week too, but sometimes it's hard to really hear what they're saying. I mean I hear it, and I know they're right, but I don't really want to hear it. I guess sometimes I just want to have a pity party and thankfully my friends generally don't take part in that, as they really should not. I do have one friend who is particularly good about listening to my whining, while also giving good advice that is spot on.

So with that being said, my life is not bad--I have a great job, tons of amazing friends, family, a place to live, car, and more. I need to remember to be in the moment and focus on the now, not yesterday, tomorrow, or years down the road. It doesn't matter. We cannot change any of that, but we can make things happen TODAY.

My biggest problem right at this moment is whether I should go out or not tonight. So I'd say things are pretty good!

Tuesday, January 17, 2012

Music

I love music. All kinds. I want to write something, but I can't think of anything worthwhile to say. Truth is, I'm kind of down and it would just be a negative post that might make you laugh, cry, or both. (Everything is fine.) So I have just been listening to a lot of music from these artists below and I'm going to post four of my current obsessions. Just a warning: the first three are kind of downers, but the fourth is very upbeat and positive!