Saturday, April 14, 2012

Where to go from here?!

Wow, so I really suck at this blogging thing as of late, huh? I guess it's kind of hard to find time to blog when I now have a full-time job in which there is actual work to do. On top of that, at the end of the day I always have plans whether it be working out, friend commitments, happy hour, or just personal reading.

I also went to Norfolk, Richmond, and NYC recently. I feel like I have a lot to write about, but whenever I have time I'm not inspired. I will tell you what I am fucking inspired about: spring game! I will be leaving this over-crowded place for Blacksburg around noon on Friday and I CANNOT wait!! We have also moved up in the world. We used to always stay in the Red Carpet Inn, which is nicer than it looks. Well forget that! We're staying at the Courtyard by Marriott this time and it's pretty awesome. I'm also a Gold Elite Marriott member so hellllllllo points!! As my friend Allison was saying, it's funny how we went from staying somewhere free to a place that cost $50 per person for the weekend (thinking that's a lot) to a place that cost $100 per person. In all fairness none of that is a lot because Blacksburg is cheap. As we always joke when we go back to Blacksburg, "Look at this tab!! I'm rich!" DC, and many other places are just expensive and Blacksburg is not.

Next subject. I'm the first person to get woe, is me when things in my life aren't going great. I used to be a lot worse, but I am better about it now. I have so many things to be thankful for: my health, family, friends, job, home, income, etc., but I forget about it sometimes and want to have a pity party. I have noticed it's usually due to one thing, or more so, a person at that given time. Now is as good of time as any to remember that I'm alive. At the end of the day, that is huge. I always try to remind myself of the 32 who were killed at Virginia Tech in 2007. Would they be complaining that a stupid metro train is running late? No. No, they wouldn't because they would just be happy to be alive. Furthermore, I know a lot of people that have dealt with cancer lately, whether personally, or through a family member. It's truly horrible and they don't know how many days they have left. Some beat it. Many don't. That's also why I take my health pretty seriously. There are so many things that we can do to prevent disease and cancer, so why not? Besides, I am actually one of those annoying bitches who likes working out. Sorry, I'm not sorry!

Tuesday, March 20, 2012

Sleep, or lack thereof

I am hoping that writing this will help remedy my recent insomnia. I started having sleep issues about a year and a half ago, but through a lot of stuff I was able to improve it. In fact, it was really good this past summer and fall. Then winter hit, which is always the worst season for me, but it still wasn't as bad as it has been.

Yet, for some unknown reason my insomnia has resurfaced the past three weeks. It's not that bad as I can usually fall asleep by 1 or 2am, but that sucks when you start trying to sleep at 11pm or 12am. It sucks even more when the alarm clock goes off at 7am. It's better than it was at its worst when I didn't fall asleep until 4am some nights. The thing that's bugging me is I cannot really pinpoint as to why I can't sleep! I am not particularly stressed--really very little stress. I am not anxiety ridden, although that is the time that I worry the most. It's like as soon as my head hits the pillow it starts..."Did I pay x bill?" "What do I have to do at work tomorrow?" "Is the door locked?" "Oh, I am going to wear those pants to work tomorrow with that shirt." "Why did X say X?" Haha, so as you can see nothing that important, but obviously not very helpful when you're trying to sleep.

What usually helps is going out on the couch and lying out there. I usually fall asleep and wake up after a bit then get in my bed. That is obviously not ideal though. What are your remedies when you cannot sleep?

Sunday, March 4, 2012

Social Networking

Obviously, I love social networking. I have been on Facebook since 2004 and Twitter since 2008. I used to LOVE Facebook and I was always on it. Even though I signed up for Twitter in 2008 I didn't really start using it until 2010 or so. And I didn't like it. I didn't see the point, to me it was just like a constant status update. So I continued to hang out on Facebookstatus updates, photos, perusing profiles, stalking other "friends" and eventually chatting. Then I started to get more into Twitter so now I was spending a lot of time on both sites. Facebook went through change after change, while Twitter stayed the same for the most part. I started to see the light with Twitter. I could keep up on so much theresports, metro woes (a big point of contention with me as you know), friends, health and exercise, music and more.

Somewhere along the way I started to really get into Twitter and began tweeting a lot more. I'd say it was about a year or so ago when I was really bored with my old job and started getting on Twitter to see what was going on. I also started following people I didn't even know and I also gained some followers that I didn't know. Some tweeted about running or DC-related things, but a lot of them were Hokies. No surprise there considering how obsessed I am with Virginia Tech.

I was still on Facebook as much as Twitter and catching up on what happened there after I got out of work. Something happened over the past three to four months though. I just don't enjoy it. I am either angry at something someone posts or incredibly annoyed. So most people would probably say, "Okay, well no one is forcing you to be on there so delete it moron." And I have thought about it, but I do love seeing some of my friends' babies and keeping up with other friends on there. So I am slowly deleting "friends" that I find annoying or who are just incredibly ignorant. It's funny to me how different Twitter and Facebook are though. I am probably, maybe, kind of, sort ofwho am I kiddingdefinitely addicted to Twitter though. I tweeted (somewhat jokingly) a couple weeks ago that Twitter was starting to take over my real life as I didn't know if I had heard something on Twitter or in my real life! Sometimes I think I like some of my Twitter "friends" (people I haven't met in real life) more than my real friends! That's not really true because I love all my real friends (for real love you guys), but I definitely love my Twitter "friends" a lot more than my Facebook "friends." I have met the Facebook "friends" before too. They're people from middle and high school, old jobs, college, random other life happenings, but I don't care what's going on in their lives.

So in honor of this post I am going to go over some of the most annoying Facebook offenders. Please note that this is not meant to offend, and I know I have posted dumb or annoying things.

1. "My baby [insert name here] just ate peas!" Okay, really?! Do you think all your friends want to know this or care? No, they don't. Your baby just crawled for the first time? Okay maybe. Your toddler said or did something really funny? That's a good post.

2. Ex, baby mama drama, forever alone, etc posts. I will admit it is funny when boyfriend and girlfriend, or I've even seen husband and wife, fight on Facebook for everyone to see, but come on?! Let's be adults and take this to text message, the phone or in person.

3. Long ass, ridiculous posts about ANY subject. If I turn 30 by the time I read your post we have a problem. This is Facebook, not your journal so please get a pen and paper if you have that much to say.