Showing posts with label Verizon. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Verizon. Show all posts

Thursday, July 28, 2011

Short Week!

Well when you don't start your work week until Wednesday it goes by pretty quickly! I took Tuesday off because Verizon was coming to hook up FIOS! I also needed to get my hair cut, definitely a good reason to take a day off, haha. The Verizon guy took forever, but I actually felt bad for him. Of course, my complex put the wall mounts in so we could get Verizon, BUT they failed to actually wire it from the ground up to the apartment. So the poor guy was outside in the 95+ degree heat with a ladder wiring up the building! I don't live on the first floor either! So he started around 11:15am and I was waiting and waiting so I could go for a run. Well finally at 12:30pm when it didn't seem like he would be done anytime soon I asked how much longer and he said, "oh maybe two hours." Ummmm, what?! I had my hair appointment scheduled for 3pm so I needed to go on the run soon. I asked him if he minded if I went running and he said no. I knew he wasn't going to leave with my stuff because I knew who he was. Anyhow, went on the run and it was HOT, but not too bad. Thank you to the Arlington residents running your sprinklers! Very refreshing.

So I finished my run and of course I had to shower. Umm, more awkward. My friend said it sounded like a porn he watched once. Ughhh, no. So he finished around 1:15pm and showed me how to work everything. It's awesome and I am so happy to say sayonara Comcast!

On another note I also made Banana Bread on Tuesday. I followed this recipe from fitsugar and it turned out pretty good! Especially with some butter or sunflower seed nut butter!

Next up, who loves falafel?! ME! I had it twice this week in a whole wheat wrap with tahini, pickle, cucumber, hummus, spinach (one night), and mozzarella cheese. The other night I had it with sweet potato fries, but tonight I had it with a baked sweet potato (not pictured). So the falafel kind of looks like poop balls in the picture, but I swear it's good!

Let's see, what else?! Well I am feeling pretty confident about my potential opportunity and life is great right now! Tomorrow is Friday and I have some fun stuff planned for the weekend.

Friday, July 15, 2011

Winning At Many Things

Life, negotiating, and running. First of all, I am waiting to hear about something and once it's final then I can talk about it on here, but since this is really public and you don't need an account to read it I don't want to talk about it yet. Secondly, I don't know if I have mentioned this before, but I mothereffing hate COMCAST WITH A FIERY PASSION!

So I called Verizon to ask them something about my Internet (thank god I only have cable through Comcrap) and they mentioned that I could get faster Internet plus FIOS for $69.99. Umm what? I pay $72 for Comcrap plus $22 for Verizon Internet. Yep, they can set me up with a sweet deal for $69.99. Will it lock me into a contract? Nope! Sounds too good to be true. Let me call Comcrap and see if I can drop their asses like a bad habit. Oh yes I CAN! Here's the exchange:

Comcrap: I am sorry to hear you want to cancel. Why is that?
Me: Oh, I just HATE COMCAST and can't stand your service, plus I am getting a way better deal with Verizon.
Comcrap: We're sorry to hear that! What do you not like about it?
Me: Everything. The service, the technicians and their timing or lack thereof, the price...
Comcrap: Oh, well we see you called x and x, and we had someone there x. Did they not resolve the problem? And we can give you a deal for...
Me: No! I don't care anymore, I already signed up for Verizon. I want to give a date to cancel my service.
Comcrap: Okay ma'am.

So I call Verizon back and they gave me FIOS with HD, 220 channels, fastest Internet connection available, and free DVR for 3 months at $69.99 a month! WINNING! I can't wait for July 26.

On to the next thing. This is random, but I feel the need to talk about elevator etiquette. I don't really have a problem with this except at work. I want to say that it is weird if it's just you and me in the elevator and you face me. STAND FORWARD. Not only are you facing me, but you're staring at me. Very AWKWARD. Also, if you're waiting for the elevator to come get you (and I know you might have been waiting a long time) stand to the side! It's rude when everyone is flooding out of the elevator and you're blocking the way because you're trying to get on the elevator. Lastly, DO NOT, I REPEAT DO NOT, press a floor and then not get off on it. I am trying to go to the 11th floor asshole. I already have to stop at 2, 3, 5, 8, and 10, THEN 11. Do you think I also want to stop on the fourth floor to check out the scenery because you pressed the button not knowing what day it is and that you really work on the fifth floor?!


Do not be this tool